Oliver Kugler

Oliver Kugler is an illustrator and reporter, who does illustrations on the people he has interview or met out on his journeys. I have looked at Oliver kugler’s work in the past for my last final major project. I wanted to look at his work again because of his detailed illustration because I am thinking of trying to do an detailed illustration of the images I collect over a rain day.

I like his work he did on Luigi Bonaventura because I was interested in how it is black and white, a style I’m interested in. His line of work is detailed something I want to try to do in my work if I go with the idea of doing illustrations. I was impressed that Kugler went out to interview people and then drew the people he interviewed and also people around him at the time.

In Kugler’s work he labels the items that he ether finds out of the ordinary or something he wants you to see that can be important to the persons personality. This could be something I do with my illustrations if I want my audience to focus on something that I felt could be important to the theme.

I looked at Kugler’s Christmas Party for the Homeless work because I like the colour scheme and how some of the people and items have no colour making them blend into the background and allowing the coloured piece to come through allowing you to see what the artist really wants you to look at.

I will say though is that I think if I was to try and do the amount of detail as Kugler does, I feel that I would take longer doing one piece instead of 2 or 3 illustrations. But I will try his way of leaving things uncoloured so they can blend into the background.

Referencing:

Kugler, O., (unknown). Oliver Kugler’s Portfolio. [Viewed 18th April 2019]. Available from: http://www.olivierkugler.com/

Leave a comment